India vs Australia, 2nd Test: Batting great Sachin Tendulkar expressed his disappointment with the ‘umpire’s call’ rule in DRS reviews, saying players use the review when they are not happy with the on-field umpire’s decisions.
Australia vs India: Sachin Tendulkar not happy with umpire’s call in DRS reviews (AP Photo)
- Sachin Tendulkar wants ICC to review umpire’s call rule in DRS review system
- An umpire’s call went against India after Jasprit Bumrah yorker hit Joe Burns shoes
- Quite a few former cricketers have argued against the umpire’s call rule
Batting great Sachin Tendulkar has urged the International Cricket Council (ICC) to thoroughly look into ‘umpire’s call’ rule when the Decision Review System is employed in international cricket.
Taking to social media, Sachin Tendulkar said the umpire’s call rule doesn’t do justice to players who take the reviews after being unhappy with the on-field umpire’s decision. According to the ICC rules, the on-field decision stays if there is no conclusive evidence to overturn it. In case of LBW appeals, the on-field decision stays if more than half of the ball misses the stumps even after clipping the stumps.
“The reason players opt for a review is because they’re unhappy with the decision taken by the on-field umpire. The DRS system needs to be thoroughly looked into by the @ICC, especially for the ‘Umpires Call’,” Tendulkar wrote on social media.
Tendulkar’s comments came after several on-field calls were upheld by the third umpire after DRS reviews were taken by the two teams in the ongoing 2nd Test between Australia and India in Melbourne.
The reason players opt for a review is because they’re unhappy with the decision taken by the on-field umpire.
The DRS system needs to be thoroughly looked into by the @ICC, especially for the ‘Umpires Call’.#AUSvIND
— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) December 28, 2020
In fact, India were left a little frustrated when a Jasprit Bumrah yorker didn’t bring them a wicket against Australia opener Joe Burns. Bumrah pinned the yorker right on target but the on-field umpire did not give it out. The decision stayed as replays showed the ball clipping the leg-stump but more than half ofit missing after India took the review.
Former Australia leg-spinner Shane Warne slammed the umpire’s call decision, saying the the LBW appeals should be given out if the ball clips the stumps.
Former India batsman Rohan Gavaskar pointed out that Steve Smith would not have been declared out had the ball missed the leg-stump during his dismissal to Jasprit Bumrah in the final session of Day 3. The on-field umpire did not give it out after the Bumrah delivery hit his pads but the ball brushed the leg-stump.
Smith dismissal is a perfect example !! Ball just clipping leg stump . https://t.co/qGbmQ6CbhX
— Rohan Gavaskar (@rohangava9) December 28, 2020